Disk Detective Talk

Object is a star by SED, but DSS2 images show nothing; i.e. not seen in Visible Light

• mboschmd by mboschmd moderator

I've found what I thought were otherwise excellent candidates: they are stars by SED (caveats noted) but virtually show nothing at DSS2 wavelenghts.
    Do we exclude these objects because "Not round in DSS2 or 2MASS images" (they're not anything!)

Posted

• Pini2013 by Pini2013 translator, moderator in response to miltonbosch's comment.

Milton, first try to investigate more in the catalogs if you think the rest of the images are good

Posted

• mboschmd by mboschmd moderator

Well, that's the hard part. I'm just a regular Joe amateur astronomer who's head is spinning at the tremendous amount of new concepts and tools I need to become facile with, before I'll be able to submit candidates for observation.
    I had no idea I would be in college again, doing self-study at home, when I joined the High User group.
    I watched all the videos posted; some were for the new user. I watched Disc Detective Complete Session (41:38), and no explanation is given while jumping from page to page, and catalog to catalog.
    I know this is Old Hat for all the Astronomy PhD's out there, but it is becoming a burden to me, trying to fully understand what I'm being asked to do, and provide, when submitting a good candidate.
    I'm in this group by virtue of my enthusiasm to complete the first batch of images in their entirety, in about six weeks, so Marc asked me if I'd like to join the group as a High User. I said I'd be honored to join the group.
    I'm probably the least educated person on the DD team, astronomy wise - and am interacting with the databases for the first time.
    I had no idea it would be this hard....honestly.

Posted

• jdebes by jdebes scientist, admin